Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program

The Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program was launched in 2015 as an initiative of The Australia-Indonesia Centre in partnership with Indonesia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs. In 2016, the Centre delivered the Financial Leaders Program in partnership with Indonesia’s Financial Services Authority (OJK). The goal of the program is to develop strong relationships between future leaders from both nations as they move into national leadership positions.

Between May 2015 and 2017, the program was delivered twice annually over 10 days across Melbourne, Canberra and Sydney. Up to 30 delegates from government, business, academia and media participated in each program.

Highlights include:

  • Executive leadership training courses at Monash University, The University of Melbourne, Australian National University and The University of Sydney
  • Roundtable dialogues with Australian government ministers and senior representatives
  • Masterclasses with former Australian ambassadors
  • Case study workshops with business leaders
  • Cultural and networking functions

“This innovative program serves to bring the best of our two nations, by understanding each other better; by building trust; by networking. It will open up doors to new ideas and activities that will bring benefits not only to our two nations but also to our region. I hope this innovative program continues for many more years.”

H.E. Retno Marsudi

Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia (November, 2015)

Leaders Program Alumni Network

  • 162 alumni
  • 51 organisations

Dr Philips Vermonte (Executive Director, CSIS Indonesia)

Helianti Hilman (Founder & CEO, JAVARA)

Dr Agung Wicaksono (Director of Operations, MRT Jakarta)

Felia Salim (Board of Director, Indonesia Eximbank)

Arfi Rafnialdi (Special Advisor to Governor of West Java)

Dr Dinna Wisnu (Indonesia Commissioner, ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights)

Andreano Erwin (Deputy I Permanent Representative/Ambassador, Indonesian Permanent Mission to the United Nations Geneva)

Andalusia Dewi (Minister Counsellor – Political Affairs, Indonesian Embassy London)


  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Department of Education and Training
  • Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • Austrade
  • Victoria State Government
  • City of Melbourne
  • Monash University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • Australian National University
  • The University of Sydney
  • ANZ


  • Executive Office of the President (KSP)
  • Presidential Advisory Council (Wantimpres)
  • Coordinating Ministry for Economic Affairs
  • Coordinating Ministry for Political, Legal and Security Affairs
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Ministry of Trade
  • Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources
  • Ministry of Industry
  • Ministry of National Development Planning
  • Indonesia Financial Services Authority (OJK)
  • West Java Provincial Government
  • Jakarta Regional Development Planning Board (BAPPEDA Jakarta)
  • MRT Jakarta
  • Indonesia Infrastructure Guarantee Fund
  • Indonesia Young Entrepreneurs Association (HIPMI)
  • Veritrans
  • Universitas Indonesia (UI)
  • Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB)
  • Institut Pertanian Bogor (IPB)
  • Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (ITS)
  • Paramadina University
  • Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
  • Centre of Reform Economics
  • People Centred Economic and Business Institute (IBEKA)
  • Indonesia Institute for Defense and Strategic Studies
  • Kompas TV
  • PwC Indonesia
  • ANZ Indonesia
  • QBE Indonesia
  • Asuransi Jasa Indonesia
  • Bank Negara Indonesia (BNI)
  • Asuransi Jiwasraya
  • Indonesia Central Securities Depository (KSEI)
  • AXA Mandiri Financial Services
  • Asuransi Central Asia
  • Bank Tabungan Negara
  • Tabungan dan Asuransi Pensiun (TASPEN)
  • Bank Bukopin
  • Pegadaian

Leaders Program: themes and speakers

The Centre engaged 33 program partners and sponsors to deliver 6 programs between 2015 and 2017. The six programs were:

Theme: Future Cities

May 22 to 31, 2017

  • Teuku Mohammad Hamzah Thayeb (Former Indonesian Ambassador to United Kingdom and Australia)
  • John Thwaites (Chair, Monash Sustainable Development Institute & ClimateWorks Australia)
  • Laura Anderson (Chair, LaunchVic & OneGlobalVenture)
  • Lucinda Hartley (Co-founder & CEO, CoDesign Studio)


Theme: Public Diplomacy, Infrastructure, and Tourism

November 14-25, 2016

  • H.E. General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Governor of New South Wales)
  • Ric Smith AO (Former Australian Ambassador to Indonesia)
  • Dr Sarah Pearson (Chief Innovation Officer, DFAT)
  • Kate Cornick (CEO, LaunchVic)


Theme: Financial Leaders Program

October 23-28, 2016

  • Kelly O’Dwyer (Minister for Financial Services)
  • Philip Dalidakis (Victorian Minister for Small Business, Innovation and Trade)
  • Muliaman Hadad (Chair, Financial Services Authority – OJK)
  • Michelle Price (CEO, AustCyber)


Theme: Economic Diplomacy, Energy and Innovation

May 18-27, 2016

  • William Sabandar (President Director, MRT Jakarta)
  • Penelope Wensley AC (Former Australian Representative to the United Nations)
  • Ian Chubb AC (Former Australian Chief Scientist)
  • Jenny McGregor AM (Former Group CEO, Asialink)


Theme: Economic Diplomacy

November 22-December 1, 2015

  • Julie Bishop (Former Minister of Foreign Affairs)
  • Bill Farmer AO (Former Australian Ambassador to Indonesia)
  • Ross Fitzgerald (Director, Pratt Foundation)
  • Rohini Kappadath (General Manager, Immigration Museum)


Theme: Diplomacy in a Complex World

May 25-June 4, 2015

  • Shayne Elliott (CEO, ANZ)
  • John McCarthy (Former Australian Ambassador to Indonesia)
  • Rebekah Brown (Director, Monash Sustainability Development Institute)
  • Tamerlaine Beasley (Managing Director, Beasley Intercultural)