Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program: May 2016 – ‘Economic Diplomacy, Energy and Innovation’

In May 2016, the third Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program ‘Economic Diplomacy, Energy and Innovation’ saw 30 delegates from Indonesia and, for the first time, Australia, travel to Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne over 10 days.

The  Program focuses on economic diplomacy through the spectrum of energy challenges that face both nations and the innovations which will meet those challenges.


Delegates participated in:

  • Executive leadership training courses at Monash University, The University of Melbourne, ANU, and The University of Sydney, as well as a course hosted by Universitas Paramadina
  • Meetings with Government Ministers and senior representatives
  • Masterclasses with former Australian Ambassadors and senior diplomats
  • Case Study workshops with business and media leaders
  • Cultural and networking events


  • H.E. General The Hon David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d) – Governor of New South Wales
  • The Hon Philip Dalidakis MP – Minister for Small Business, Innovation and Trade, Victoria State Government
  • Ann Bray – Interim CEO, Innovation and Science Australia
  • Tim Bradley – Economist, Innovation and Science Australia
  • Leesa Carson – Community Safety Manager, Geoscience Australia
  • Allaster Cox – First Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia Maritime Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Bill Farmer AO – Former Australian Ambassador to Indonesia (2005-2010)
  • Eko Santoso Junor – Deputy Director of Sesparlu (Senior Diplomatic Course), Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia
  • H.E. Nadjib Riphat Kesoema – Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia to Australia and Vanuatu
  • Odo Manuhutu – Director of Sesparlu (Senior Diplomatic Course), Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia
  • Dr Justin Lee – Deputy Head of Mission, Australian Embassy Jakarta
  • John McCarthy AO – Former Australian Ambassador to Indonesia (1997-2001)
  • Yayan Mulyana – Consul General for New South Wales, Queensland and South Australia of Indonesia
  • Peter Roberts – Deputy Chief Negotiator for IA-CEPA, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Dr William Sabandar – Senior Advisor to the Minister on Renewable Energy, Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources of the Republic of Indonesia
  • Richard Sadleir – FAS ISD, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Jon Sibley – Director of Energy and Waste Policy, Australian Capital Territory Government
  • Dr Arif Syed – Director of Resources and Energy, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • The Hon Penelope Wensley AC – Former Governor of Queensland
  • Tamerlaine Beasley – Managing Director, Beasley Intercultural
  • Christian Bennett – Vice President of Government Affairs and Policy, General Electric
  • Grant Dooley – Executive Director and Head of Asia, Hastings
  • Arjuna Dibley – Associate, Baker & McKenzie
  • Wendy Hartanti – Senior Tax Manager, PwC
  • Amelia Lemondhi – Founder, Lemondhi Languages
  • Dr Raoul Oberman – Director Emeritus, McKinsey Indonesia
  • Andrew Parker – Partner, PwC
  • Roni Pramaditia – Head of Medco Foundation
  • Tony Reed – CEO, The Arcade
  • Helen Simmonds – Head of Public Programs & Education, Australian Centre for the Moving Image
  • Professor Kenneth Baldwin – Director, Energy Change Institute, ANU
  • Dr Sara Bice – Director of Research Translation at Melbourne School of Government, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor Andrew Blakers – Director of Centre for Sustainable Energy Systems, ANU
  • Professor Rebekah Brown – Director of Monash Sustainability Institute, Monash University
  • Professor Edward Buckingham – Director of Engagement, Monash Business School
  • Dr Paul Burke – Fellow at Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU
  • Ian William Chubb AC – Former Chief Scientist
  • Greg Ireton – Research Associate, Centre for Disaster Management and Public Policy
  • Dr Michael James – Head of Science, Synchrotron Light Source Australia
  • Professor Colm Kearney – Dean of Faculty of Business and Economics, Monash University
  • Elisabeth Kramer – Deputy Director, Sydney Southeast Asia Centre
  • Professor Anne Lytle – Director of Leadership, Monash Business School
  • Jenny McGregor AM – CEO, Asialink
  • Dr Max Richter – Academic Coordinator (Indonesia), Monash University
  • Dr Sandra Seno-Alday – The University of Sydney Business School
  • Professor Helen Sullivan – Director of Melbourne School of Government, The University of Melbourne
  • Dr Dinna Wisnu – Director of Paramadina Graduate Schools, Paramadina University

Photo Gallery

Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program May 2016


New South Wales Governor David Hurley welcomes Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program delegates

New South Wales Governor David Hurley welcomes Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program delegates

May 18, 2016

His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d) and other dignitaries welcome the delegates for the Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program during a Sydney Harbour cruise. Delegates from Indonesia and Australia have convened in Sydney for the first day of the May 2016 Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program, opening with a cruise through Sydney Harbour, taking in […]

find out more
Indonesian, Australian leaders connect

Indonesian, Australian leaders connect

June 9, 2016

  Some of Indonesia’s most progressive and inspirational leaders in the fields of diplomacy, trade, energy, academia, think-tanks and community service have demonstrated why their nation is one of the most dynamic emerging markets.   The leaders – taking part in the Australia-Indonesia Centre’s (AIC’s) third Australia-Indonesia Leaders Program in Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne in the […]

find out more


“Quality, well-designed program that is instrumental in bridging relations between Indonesia and Australia. Any leadership that is serious in committing towards the relationship could not afford to not send their best people to this program.”

– Dr RM Aria Wibisono, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Indonesia

“Mind broadening and valuable on so many levels – I feel absolutely privileged to be one of the first Australian delegates.”

– Dijana Mirkovic, Department of Education and Training, Australia

“The program enabled me to explore issues and possibilities with leaders from various sectors in both countries. The combination of formal, intellectual & informal activities has given us a deep shared experience with which to continue fostering our bilateral relations & collaborations well into the future.”

– Dr Max Richter, Monash University