Jenny McGregor AM

Group CEO


Jenny McGregor is the founding CEO of Asialink at The University of Melbourne and founding Executive Director of the Asia Education Foundation. Under her leadership Asialink has become Australia’s largest non-government centre for the promotion of Australia-Asia relations, with an annual budget of over A$10 million and programs spanning education, the arts, business, health and diplomacy. Ms McGregor was a member of the Asialink Taskforce for an Asia Capable Workforce in 2012 and makes regular public appearances on issues relating to Australia’s engagement with the Asian region.

Ms McGregor has been a member of the Boards of the APEC Women’s Business Advisory Committee and the Myer Foundation’s Beyond Australia Committee. She is currently on the Advisory Board of the Dunlop Asia Awards, the Board of Australian Volunteers International, and the Advisory Board of the Australia-Indonesia Youth Association (AIYA). Ms McGregor is also a member of the Executive of the Melbourne Confucius Institute, the Asia Century Committee of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) Victoria’s, and a member of the Bank of Melbourne Asian Business Council.

Prior to taking up her Asialink appointment in 1990, Ms McGregor worked as a political adviser and senior manager in Australia’s Federal and State governments. She then joined the Commission for the Future to research Australia-Asia relations. She holds the Peter Brice award for outstanding contribution to teaching and learning about the Asia-Pacific region and is a recipient of the World Chinese Economic Forum Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Asian Studies in Australia. She was awarded a Universitas 21 (U21) Award for Internationalisation in 2013 in recognition of her contribution to the development of Asialink and its role as a national leader on issues of Asian engagement in Australia. Ms McGregor is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute for International Affairs for 2014.

Ms McGregor has a BA (Hons) and Dip Ed from The University of Melbourne.